Wyoming’s Graham Ike named to watch list for Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award

Wyoming Graham Ike vs. New Mexico men’s basketball center at the Arena Auditorium in Laramie. (University of Wyoming Athletics)

CASPER, Wyo — The Naismath Memorial Hall of Fame has placed Wyoming Cowboys’ Graham Ike on the watchlist for the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, UW Athletics said in a news release Thursday.

Ike is among 20 forwards across the country who are on the watch list. The full list is as follows:

Enrique Freiman Akron Chris Murray Iowa
Ąžuolas Tubelis Arizona KJ Williams LSU
Johni Broom Maroon Donta Scott Maryland
Arthur Kaluma Creighton De Andre Williams memphis
Daron Holmes II Dayton Norchad Omier Miami, Fla.)
Kyle Filipowski duke Peter Nance North Carolina
Jalen Slawson Furman GG Jackson South Carolina
Drew Timme gonzaga Jayden Gardner Virginia
Jarace Walker Houston Justyn Mutts Virginia Tech
Trayce Jackson Davis Indiana Graham Ike Wyoming

“The Basketball Hall of Fame is proud to annually honor the top power forwards in the collegiate game with the Karl Malone Award, which bears the name of one of the greatest players of all time,” John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame, the press release reads.” “To be added to the Karl Malone Award watchlist is a great honor and I know he appreciates the opportunity to see these players compete throughout the season. We are honored to include his unique perspective in our review each year.”

Ike is the first cowboy to be placed on the watch list since Larry Nance Jr. was named a 2014-2015 finalist, UW Athletics said. In addition to being placed on the watch list, Ike was named Mountain West Preseason Player of the Year and All-Mountain West Preseason Team.

Ike averaged 19.5 points per game last season, was second in the Mountain West and 30th in the nation, UW Athletics said. He averaged 9.6 rebounds per game, second most in Mountain West and 21st nationally.

Fans can participate in voting for the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, UW Athletics said. Public voting begins Friday, October 28th. As the season progresses, the watchlist will be narrowed down to ten players in January 2023 and five in February.

“In March, the five finalists will be presented to Malone and the Hall of Fame selection committee, where a winner will be chosen,” said UW Athletics.

Previous award winners include:

  • Keegan Murray, Iowa (2022)
  • Drew Timme, Gonzaga (2021)
  • Obi Toppin, Dayton (2020)
  • Zion Williamson, Duke (2019)
  • Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018)
  • Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017)
  • Georges Niang, State of Iowa (2016)
  • Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015)

The Cowboys will start their season at home against Colorado Christian at 7 p.m. Nov. 7, UW Athletics said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button