Quad City Iowa RiverShare Libraries announce fine free

DAVENPORT, Iowa (KWQC) – The Iowa Quad Cities RiverShare Libraries announced the start of a fine-free chapter in 2023 for members with outstanding fines.

RiverShare Libraries announced that effective January 1, all libraries with 9 members will no longer collect fines for late materials, according to a RiverShare Library System news release.

Libraries in the system include: Bettendorf Public Library, Clinton Community College Library, Clinton Public Library, Davenport Public Library, LeClaire Community Library, Muscatine Community College Library, Musser Public Library, Scott County College Library, and Scott County Library System.

The move to free lending is intended to remove barriers to accessing library materials and encourage the use of library cards for all, according to a media release from RiverShare library officials.

“With the fines gone, media still has due dates and must be returned to the library or an invoice will be issued for lost media,” said Tricia Kane, director of the Scott County Library System. “Research has shown that late fines do not impact return rates, and we believe that by eliminating fines we can encourage more people to use our libraries.”

The study comes from the American Library Association, which suggests evidence from recent fee-free libraries has shown they reduce staff time to manage fees and remove economic barriers to accessing library materials and services.

For more information, see

Individual RiverShare member libraries can be referred to the following contacts:

Bettendorf City Library:

Jillian Ashliman, Library Director

Telephone: 563-344-4183

Email: [email protected]

Clinton Community College

Courtney Prichard, Librarian

Telephone: 563-244-7106

Email: [email protected]

Clinton Public Library

Susan Mesecher, Library Director

Telephone: 563-242-9115

Email: [email protected]

Davenport Public Library

Jeff Collins, Library Director

Phone: 563-328-6850

Email: [email protected]

LeClaire Community Library

Melita Tunnicliff, Library Director

Telephone: 563-289-6002

Email: [email protected]

Muscatine Community College

Nancy Luikart, Associate Dean of Library Services

Telephone: 563-288-6073

Email: [email protected]

Musser Public Library

Robert Fiedler, Director of the Library

Telephone: 563-263-3065, extension 125

Email: [email protected]

Scott County Community College

Debra Lowman, Associate Dean of Library and Learning – District Manager

Telephone: 563-441-4150

Email: [email protected]

Scott County Library System

Tricia Kane, Library Director

Telephone: 563-285-4794, extension 2229

Email: [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button